top of page

Six Things to Consider Before you go for the Next Big Marketing Idea

Updated: Sep 30, 2022

Fun fact: by the end of this year, about 50% of online searches will be completed by voice.


You know: "Alexa, order me another box of diapers."



That voice.


So, when we're thinking about having a phone in our hand and access to information, you've got to remember: how we're purchasing and consuming information is shifting so quickly, we're living out the Jetson's real life.


What does that mean for your business?


It's tempting to want to make yourself overwhelmed by the feeling you MUST integrate voice commands into your marketing, isn't it?


But, let's take a step back, shall we? Before you try to move on to the next phase of marketing, ask yourself: what am I currently doing to build my digital foundation? How are my existing marketing platforms performing for me?


Here are six things to consider before you go for the next big marketing idea:


1. Is my website up to date?

2. Is my website being optimized/working for my business goals?

3. Am I using blogging to increase my online presence using SEO tactics?

4. What social media platforms am I on?

5. How am I creating content that connects and engages with my online audience?

6. Am I using social media ads to my best ability?


These six questions will help you define your online marketing efforts before you try to optimize voice commands. Because, if you come up as the first option for a "Spa Near Me", but your website is garbage or your social media hasn't been updated since 2013, guess what? I'm moving on to option #2 on my search results.


1. Is my Website up to date?

You already know when your website was last updated. But is it fresh? Does it reflect the vibe and tone you want to project to your online audience? Are you staff bios updated? Does your photo look like it's from the Murphy Brown Corporate Photo Day? Take an inventory of all the things you'd want to do to clean up your website. Current, reliable websites will build a level of trust with your followers.


2. Is my website being optimized/working for my business goals?

If you own a spa, but you have nowhere for online guests to book a service, your website isn't optimized for your user experience. If you want to book out workshops at your store, is your events calendar easy to navigate on mobile? Or maybe you want to get e-commerce started (we have an amazing downloadable step-by-step guide). Think about the user experience (and get friends to use your website and give feedback), and then make changes to ensure that your website is working for your business.


3. Am I using blogging to increase my online presence using SEO tactics?

By consistently updating your website, Google rewards you for being active. If your website hasn't been updated in five years, guess what? It pushes you down in the search results. Blogging is one way to increase your Google search results AND allows you to demonstrate your expertise in the field. But...you run a retail shop, so what could you possibly blog about? Highlight sales. Do weekly outfits. Feature your vendors. They're quick and dirty posts, but will do wonders for your Google results.


4. What social media platforms am I on?

If you got your business on Facebook because everyone else is doing it, but your audience isn't hanging out there, then why are you on it? If you're a B2B operations, do an inventory of the existing social media platforms and figure out the best way to use your time to do some online networking. Maybe LinkedIn is a better option. If you sell prom dresses, then, hello TikTok (not Facebook).


5. How am I creating content that connects and engages with my audience?

Connect, Inform and Sell. You know the drill! Don't sell at the time and be consistent. Show us you're real people. Doing real things. Even if that's eating an entire frozen pizza on your own or hiding the Ketchup chip bag from your kids (Cathy did what?!).




6. Am I using social media ads to my best ability?

Using Facebook and Instagram ads or even LinkedIn ads are such low-cost marketing tactics to directly connect to your audience. Don't know how to use it? There are a ton of articles and YouTube videos on running social media ads, and we recommend this method before churning out hundreds/thousands/bazillions of dollars in high-fee marketing tactics.


Conclusion


Stop worrying about the up and coming marketing tactics when you should be doing an inventory checklist on your current marketing platforms and efforts.


Tell us: what do you need to clean up?


p.s. If you are a checklist kind of person, head on over to our Business Resource Library and download our "30 minute Social Media Engagement Strategy" checklist.

Comments


bottom of page